September 24, 2005

Cole Slaw

Posted in Uncategorized at 5:59 pm by changisme

I remember in China, my mom and I didn’t really like KFC(my dad likes all food), but Catherine was a huge fan of KFC, well she likes chicken in general. When we went, my mom and I just fight over cole slaw while my aunt nibbles on mashed potatoes and Catherine has her wings.
 
Just when my mom came the other week, we went to white spot, and Paul ordered her cole slaw with her burger. She didn’t know what cole slaw was, and I told her, remember the KFC cabbage?? She got excited and said, "I think that is KFC’s best invention." We laughed. Of course cole slaw’s not from KFC, but thinking about it, only just 3 years ago, all the western food there was were pretty much McDonald’s and KFC, there was pizza hut, but very rare and expensive (or it’s just me didn’t like the slimy cheese?). Now there’re all the fast foods now, Subway, A&W, bbq ribs places…
 
It’s kinda pathetic actually. A lot of my family members have been to many places and seen many things. So when my mom and I go visit them or go out with them, we are often the "lao tu" (no nothing like country girls), We would make a fool of ourselves not knowing how to turn on the water tap in a upper class hotel. Now, we’ve seen western stuff, but when we go back, we are still "lao tu", because they have more modern stuff there now.
 
The good part is I don’t think these little things are so important, by coming out of our comfort zone, both me and my mom gained things that are very priceless. I guess I don’t really know how to put everything in words, but it’s quite amazing how far we’ve come. Uh.. not just geographically I mean. Well… I guess I shouldn’t speak for her.
 
==========================
I dont’ know wh y I thought of all that, I guess I was just wondering when mom’s coming again.
==========================
 
I think my stats prof is evil! I find my homework this week is so easy. He totally should have started these material first because it’s much more related to the pre reqs!! Did he just want people to drop out??? I’ve found quite a few profs like that already. That’s just so mean. Well.. the good part is I’m having a little more confidence in stats again.
 
p.s. Origin of Cole Slaw:

The word coleslaw–also written as cole-slaw or cole slaw–refers to a salad of raw shredded cabbage, usually dressed with a mayonnaise or vinaigrette.

Coleslaw is of Dutch origin, as is the dish it describes. The Dutch word is koolsla, formed from kool ‘cabbage’, related to the English words cole and kale, and sla, a reduced form of salade, borrowed from French, the same source of English salad.

So for all its admittedly unusual form, the word literally has the mundane meaning ‘cabbage salad’, just what it is.

The word coleslaw is an Americanism, first found in the late eighteenth century, a period of heavy borrowing of Dutch words into American English. Its earliest written form is cold slaw, but this represents a folk-etymological form.

from : http://www.randomhouse.com/wotd/index.pperl?date=19970929

8 Comments »

  1. Unknown said,

    Hi,Do you need advertising displays, digital signages, advertising player and LCD displays? Please go Here:www.amberdigital.com.hk(Amberdigital).we have explored and developed the international market with professionalism. We have built a widespread marketing network, and set up a capable management team dedicated to provide beyond-expectation services to our customers.
    amberdigital Contact Us
    website:www.amberdigital.com.hk
    alibaba:amberdigital.en.alibaba.com[bgbcajjebcfhgb]


Leave a Reply

