March 21, 2006

cultural conversion

Posted in Uncategorized at 8:01 am by changisme

I was talking to a friend yesterday and arguing about stereotypes. His conclusion was that I came to Canada too early and had been westernized. I was a little taken aback, and then I reailzed that I struggle with stereotypes myself only that I try to stop myself from thinking that way.
 
I said that we want to think in terms of stereotypes because we just want to make our own lives easier, and he said there’s notthing wrong with it… well…
 
I somehow kept on debating with him knowing there would be no avail… I was thinking about it again how I can be westernized just like this and think all these are right. I thought it’s just just part of growing up and maturity, but according to him and my mom, I’m being immature and inexperienced.
 
In my guts I feel taht my view is more mature but that’s just my bias isn’t it? It’s like religion really. Why should I worry about converting the chinese culture into something I get from North America. Each culture has its own course of evolution and whereever the mainstream philosophy wants to go, let it be. Each chinese thinks differently anyway, it jjust makes me want to talk to more and more of them. 🙂
Leave a Reply

