July 14, 2006

largely minority

Posted in Uncategorized at 12:47 pm by changisme

Today I met a beautiful woman who’s transgender. She was so sweet and she’s on the verge of tears when she talks about people calling her "sir" and so on. People think that she’s weird and in a way, I think she feels herself weird too. She’s a graphic person and we talked about art, and she told me about painting and so on. I almost wanted to ask her to teach me. (well, I didn’t get a chance, or I just didn’t get up enough courage). We talked about visible minority. She called herself visibled minority, although Ruth doesn’t really agree as she told me later on, because she said the girl is so pretty and graceful, but the public perceptions are making her feeling her uniqueness amplified and negative.
 
More and more, I feel even though Canada is such a divese and liberal country, the biases and presumtions people hold are still so shockingly significant. I think I was blinded from a lot of the issues as a student and my rather secluded social circle.
 
At the same time, there are so many people who can be considered minority now that I see things around me. The majority is probably statistically minor. On the other hand, is it really the number that makes the difference?I start to doubt that. On the one hand, I think if we are exposed to people who are different more often, we can recognize and know them betterand fix our biases. At the same time, the amount of exposure is somewhat determined by our attitude as well. The two are quite intertwined. I am exposed to more people when I want to interact with them, especially in a world like ours today. We don’t really just talk with our physical neighbours anymore. I probably make it sounds like I’m not part of any minority, and I probably am in one or other.
 
Roberta told me about how Halifax is actually a gorgeous place for diversity, because for one it’s diverse, but it’s not so big that people just form their little circles and not interact with communities other than their own. I really like that.
1 Comment »

  1. Catherine Dyan said,

    "Roberta told me about how Halifax is actually a gorgeous place for diversity, because for one it\’s diverse, but it\’s not so big that people just form their little circles and not interact with communities other than their own. I really like that."
     
    That\’s what I really like about Vancouver, Washington, too. 🙂
     
    …I always access your journal from your RSS feed so it\’s been a while since I\’ve been to your actual website.  Now that I\’m here, I must say that I really like the theme and music on your blog 🙂  very zen.


Leave a Reply

