June 4, 2008

day at my grandparents’

Posted in Uncategorized at 2:32 pm by changisme

If is one place that I could call "comfort from the past", that would be my grendparents’. It’s not exactly unchanged, they got a cat and some new hobbies, but its the routines, they pace, the technologies and the bed that remain unchanged. The town they live in is also remote enough that it doesn’t really catch the fuming advancement Beijing radiates.
 
From the long distance bus station, I hired a tsuk tsuk and told her the address. However heavy my eyelids felt, my heart was pumped with excitement. Think about it, it’s been four years, sixteen seasons, fourty-eight months ince I last cruised around this peaceful little town, where buildings are not commercial and so not so crowded as else where, where people come out in the hot summer nights in not-so-pretty clothing to walk off their dinner and dance with bright coloured kerchieves.
 
The security dial pad for my grandparents building has long been broken, and they have had their big metal doors opened. They live on the fourth floor of a 25 -story building, whereas my aunt’s family lives on the 24th in the same building. My grandparents had their door opened behind an insect screen door, so I could hear their talking when I first got up from the stairs. It’s still the same.
 
After the many timeless hugs and kisses and their dazzling smiles, my grandma said she has "programs" for me, the first is to show me the cat. Obviously, the cat is scared of me and hid under the bed. I tried giving her food, but to no aveil. I could only let it be, and take a peek at her once in awhile from afar. She’s a beautiful cat with dark brown fur and black lined patterns. In fact, we think that she looks like a little tiger. She likes my grandma the best, guess she has never inflicted any trauma on her. I was told the many stories about how my grandpa dn aunt trying to trim her nails, and ever since then, my aunt’s entry to the apartment makes the cat flee under the bed until her eventual sorti.
 
In the evening, my grandparents, my aunt and uncle and I went to a neighbourhood restaurant, because everyone is too hot to bother with a grand cooking champaign. IT’s a nice little place with old tables and chairs, but huge portions and lots of spice. They make their own tofu and soymilk which we had a bowl each before meal. I have to say, in a lot of cases, I can’t taste the difference even when the restaurants make their own ingredients verses buying them, but in this case, I could definitely tell. It’s wonderful, the soymilk was fresh and rich while the toful also had great tastes and texture. We also had some BBQ skewers.
 
The problem with a large round table is that, elderlies who can’t hear very well have hard times joining in the conversations, though my grandparents have long gotten used to it. They usually concentrate on what they could chew and what they could eat and obviously what they like to eat. They talk about all the heath tips and so on. I don’t know if it’s just my family or it’s Chinese, people are very into health tips, books and tv programs on this topic never seem to shift from the central stage of the entertainment stream. Oh yeah, one interesting thing peole seem to be doing is to use diffrent toothpaste in the morning and at night these days. Aparently it’s been said that this can fortify your teeth with the strength of different tooth paste makeup.
 
One of the hobbies my grandparents, my aunt and many others had picked up was to make flours with very colourful fabric that’s used for women’s long stocking, the really thin and semi-transparent kind you wear under skirts. They bought me all the tools and materials. So I was shown how to make them yesterday and made some of my own. I really doubt that I’ll have room in my suitcase to bring it back, but it’s really quite fun. Although my grandma insists that I need to follow the books, one could get quite creative with it. It’ s just wires covered with colours! Aparently the stores that started this whole thing did quite well.
 
Now I"m up early again, I chatted and ate melon seeds till about 11 last night… shouldn’t have gotten up so early 😦 oh well.
3 Comments »

  1. olee said,

    还没倒过时差来哪?!哈哈,头三天我们也是,夜里2点倍儿兴奋,中午下午困的不行。
    我怎么就忘了嗑瓜子儿了呢?!好吃的太多了,没想起来,吃了不少果丹皮倒是真的,还有炒山楂,在外面吃饭必点的饭后甜点,哈哈~
    豆儿浆我们也喝了不少,一天每人早上就两大袋儿家庭装,美啊~ 煎饼吃了,可惜糖油饼儿没找到,我们家那块儿的自由市场太不传统了。
     
    你说的铁门我也看见了,不好,估计是跟国外学的,没什么真的防盗作用。我回原来崇文门的家都没法上去看看,就因为这按门铃铁门。遗憾..
    夏天在北京可别忘了吃凉面(麻酱,辣椒油,黄瓜丝儿,还有海绵状的豆腐块儿-从来不记得学名叫什么)。 不过我感觉东西真的是贵了,一大瓶儿冰红茶原来两三块,现在五六块;在超市胡乱买点儿就三五十出去了,合着不比国外便宜多少了。现在塑料袋收费,才1,2毛。瞧着不疼不痒的定价。应该1块一个才有效力呢,要不然向我妈那样的环保意识中等偏下的不拿这1,2毛当事儿。

  2. olee said,

    不知道你们那儿有没有莴笋。我们这没有。所以在北京天天必吃的还有清炒笋丝!韭黄儿也很不错。夏天蔬菜多,什么空心儿菜啊等绿蔬…
    真羡慕你,现在夏天可以嘬冰葫儿,冬天那会儿我没找到。:\'(
     
    动物园买衣服是不让试,但可以量。他们都有条尺。量腰围,量裤长。也可以比。好多卖主还有超级牛x的测量方法,去了你就知道了。一般人家一看你就知道你穿什么号的合适,我当时就这么过来的,回家一试都很成功。最好和别人一起去,坎价比较难,因为那都是批发商拿货的,你要是在一家买上个两三条没准可以便宜个五到十块,多了没戏。比较烦的是你得有工夫和耐心挑找,我们买的都是外贸货,质量做工面料价格都很优西。

  3. Karen said,

    温哥华是有窝笋。
    我也吃凉面了,两回呢,还有春饼什么的,不过我们家都是南方人,从前也不怎么吃北方的小吃,回来和家里人也吃的是从前爱吃的,我现在正看电视呢,好看好看。


Leave a Reply

