June 30, 2009

what a beautiful urban life

Posted in Uncategorized at 7:14 pm by changisme

I was walking on the over pass enveloped in the sound and sight of traffic flowing under me. My heart thumped with resonance.

This is definitely not the first time I marveled the sight of traffic. "Artery" is definitely the right word for the ceaseless, and yet dynamically immobile torrent. The whole thing often reminds me of a water fall, the sound muffling any screaming punk in my earphone, and the sight leading my eyes from one horizon to the other. BBack in Beijing, these over passes are more easily encountered, I often leaned over the railing trying to decide which lane should be numbered 1 and which one 16. It was even more fun to see the relative speed amongst all the lanes, a much grander sight from above than at ground level.

It’s almost embarrassing to feel the city is just as astoundingly beautiful as nature, so long as I’m outside and treading each fibre, although I did eventually realize, the heart thumping effect was mostly due to climbing up the whole way than the excitement.

Leave a Reply

